My Desert Island Survival List

Focus question:

If you were stuck on a desert island, and then one day an empty Pocari Sweat bottle washed up on the beach shore, and then when you opened it a magic genie jumped out and granted you three wishes as long as they were tangible objects (and not people like Rain or BoA), then what three things would you wish for?

My Desert Island Survival List – One Paragraph

If I were stuck on a desert island, and then one day a magic genie jumped out of a washed up Pocari Sweat bottle and offered me three tangible items, I would choose my MP3 playera solar powered battery charger, and my favourite acoustic guitar. Firstly, I would ask for my MP3 player from home because it has my favourite music from New Zealand and Korea which I like to listen to at different times of the day, like when I am jogging, or feeling homesick. Secondly, I would want a solar powered battery charger because I want my MP3 player to keep working, but also because it might be able to help me signal to passing airplanes or ships. Thirdly, I would ask the nice genie for my favourite guitar, so I can continue with one of my favourite hobbies: playing guitar and singing badly. With these three things then, I think life on a desert island might actually be quite nice!

My Desert Island Survival List – Five Paragraphs

If I were stuck on a desert island, and then one day a magic genie jumped out of a washed up Pocari Sweat bottle and offered me three tangible items, I would choose my MP3 player, a solar powered battery charger, and my favourite acoustic guitar.

My MP3 player has some of my favourite music from my favourite bands back home in Wellington, New Zealand, including Weta, and Shihad, and some other songs by my uncle and cousins, and also some of my favourite Korean home music like Crying Nut, and Vidugi OoyoO. I like to listen to my favourite songs when I am waking up in the morning, or when I am walking home, or when I am jogging, or when I am feeling homesick. It would be very helpful for my heart, ears, and mind at these times to have my MP3 player (and headphones) on the island.

If there was no MiniStop, 7Eleven, or EMart nearby, then I would not be able to able to perchase new batteries. I would therefore need a solar powered battery charger. Also, most solar powered battery chargers have very shiny surfaces. Perhaps I could use this charger for two more things: one is to use the reflected sunlight to signal to passing airplanes or ships, to try and distract the captain and let them know I am here. The second is to check my reflection so that I know I look good before they pick me up and take me back to Gwangju. Otherwise, they might think I am some kind of strange new wild animal, and they might leave me there for a future science expedition which may not arrive for many more months or years.

Just listening to music is not active enough an activity sometimes though. I would also like to have my favourite guitar so that I can practise playing guitar and singing badly. Playing guitar and singing badly is one of my favourite hobbies. Also, it would be good practise for me and my brain to remember the songs I know, and perhaps to write new ones about my experiences on the island. It is healthy to keep mentally active in a creative and fun way.

Of course it would be helpful to have many other things on my desert island. A MacGyver Swiss Army pocket knife might be handy, and it would also be really nice to have a “bungopang” stall (or “pojungmacha“) with the nice aunty to make me bungopang for dessert on cold nights. Before that, however, I would be much happier having my MP3 player to listen to, a solar charger for its multiple uses, and my guitar to keep me creatively engaged and more mentally active in my spare time, after fishing and eating coconuts.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

