A Musical Weekend

Wow. Life really can be ironic sometimes!

Yesterday, when I wrote about music – and also asked my students to write about their favourite music too – I had absolutely no idea that this weekend was to see the annual Gwangju Indie Music Festival, but it is actually this weekend, and it’s starting tonight!

A friend just messaged me about it. I am not going to be able to go to much of it at all, so, I hope my friends and students all go and enjoy it a lot. I know there is going to be some great local music playing!

* * * * * * *

Speaking of local music and current times, I was interested to see just yesterday that the singer/songwriter/guitarist from Shihad, a band I mentioned yesterday from my home town of Wellington, is releasing a new album of songs very soon. He just released a video of one track which includes many great names in pop and rock music from Aotearoa – New Zealand. It sounds like fun!

Also, it’s easy to miss home when you live so far away from it, and so music from ‘back home‘ often becomes more interesting, even when it’s really ‘old’ and ‘out of date‘.

  1. #1 by Kaia on April 13, 2011 - 2:06 pm

    Too bad I missed that…I love Indie fests…

Leave a Reply

