Study Context – On the Road

I have started learning Korean language again. I’m just trying to memorize a few words every day. It doesn’t take too long, and it’s good for my memory and my brain (which need all the help they can get).

I cycled across a bit of town this afternoon. I needed to contact a man who works in a good bicycle shop in Yeomju Dong, so it was not very far, but, today was really very cold. Fortunately, it was nice and sunny when I left to go there, but when I left to come back the sun was starting to go down, and the traffic was starting to get thicker and busier.

"Why can't we all just get along?!" Even a bike and a bus could be friends!

At one point in the road just past Baegeun Sahgorli, the road narrows to two lanes each way. I was cycling along the right-hand side of the right-hand most lane when a bus came up behind me and started blasting the horn loudly and aggressively. It was not very nice, and it was also not very helpful.

After it passed me going a bit too quickly for safety, I thought about what I would like to learn to say in nice, fluent Korean to the driver. As I cycled the rest of the way home, feeling a bit unnecessarily scared, I made a list of the sentences I would like to learn.

This is that list:

“Excuse me, but is it really necessary to blast your horn and make a big noise at me like that?

You and I and everyone on this bus knows that the road is already dangerous.

The road is probably the most dangerous for cyclists, and probably the least dangerous for bus drivers.

I was going as fast as I could, and I was keeping to the side of the lane as much as I could.

Making a big, surprising noise does not help anyone, and it makes the road more dangerous for me.

If you would like to make a big noise about road cycles being on the road, please direct that noise to the local and national politicians, and encourage them to make real cycle tracks, physically separate from pedestrian pavement walkways and also physically separate from automobile roads.

That will be the safest and quickest and happiest way for everyone.

I hope everyone else here can excuse me for taking the time to explain and express myself here, but I was a bit scared back there, so I felt I needed to say something.

Please have a good day, go well, and keep up the good work.”

I know how to say some of these sentences already, but only about one third of them.

As it is, such a speech is probably two times too long anyway.

Oh well. It makes for a great study context!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

